• Home
  • Diversity Award Criteria

Diversity Award Criteria

Click here to download the nomination form.

Please save forms as Word documents and email them as attachments to Megan Lawrence. All other letters of recommendation and resumes should also be sent as Word documents as well. For questions, email Megan Lawrence.

Nomination Process

The following must be completed in order to be considered for the award:

A. Any IATA certified member may nominate an Athletic Trainer for this award.

B. The nomination form must be completed and submitted by the deadline of March 1.

C. Only BOC certified, state licensed Athletic Trainers may receive this award.

D. Nominees must be in good standing with the IATA for a minimum of two (2) consecutive years.

E. Nominees must have worked a minimum of two (2) years at an institution in Indiana.

F. It is preferred that the nominee has NATA membership, but this is not required.

G. The nominee should be a well-respected member of their community (i.e.: volunteer, civic organizations, church, school).

H. The nominee should make contributions to diversity in athletic training in Indiana.  

Selection Process

A. All nominations must be postmarked by the deadline date.

B. The nominee must have worked a minimum of two (2) years at an institution in Indiana.

C. The nominee should be active in encouraging people to begin or continue working on promoting diversity in the athletic training profession.

D. A curriculum vitae/resume must be submitted before a nominee is presented to the full Awards Committee.

E. The Committee shall make a recommendation of one nominee from each category to the IATA Executive Council.

F. In the event that no nomination is received, or the Awards Committee rejects all nominee/s, or the Executive Council rejects the nominee, the Awards Committee is then responsible for nominating and recommending a candidate/s to the Executive Council.

G. Non-selected nominees will be considered one additional year following the initial nomination.

Election Process

A. The Executive Council officially selects the Diversity Award recipient.

B. Only one recipient will be selected per year.

C. The selected recipient is publicly announced and recognized at the IATA Awards Banquet held in conjunction with the IATA Annual Educational Meeting.

IATA, 125 West Market Street, Suite 300, Indianapolis, IN 46204

(317) 396-0002 EXT 3 | (317) 634-5964 FAX

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software