Committees of the Association
* Voting Members of the Executive Committee 

*Communications: Scott Sell

The Communications Committee serves as the public relations authority for the IATA and coordinates all media relations to enhance the profession. Additionally, the Communications Committee is responsible for producing 6 issues annually of the IATA E-news and maintaining the website. They are tasked with keeping the membership up-to-date on needed information.

*Development: Connor Burton

The Development Committee oversees the financial planning and investments for the IATA, and in conjunction with the elected officers, oversees the annual budget. Additionally, the Development Committee is responsible for seeking out corporate sponsors for annual support of the IATA.

*Professional Development: VACANT

The education committee coordinates the planning of the annual business meeting and clinical symposia. Upcoming meeting registration will be possible. Any scholarships or research grants are available through this committee. Any questions regarding CEUs for either state licensure or the Board of Certification should be directed to the Education Chair.

*Committee on Practice Advancement (COPA): Zach Dougal

This committee will assist licensed athletic trainers in Indiana in the development of strategies to obtain revenue for their services; will assist in the education of coding and documentation needed for Revenue for athletic training services; and will assist in the dissemination of this information to licensed athletic trainers.

Practice Setting Representatives:

    1. Secondary Schools: Patrick Ohaver and Ryan Galloy
    2. Industrial: Paul Slover 
    3. Clinic / Outreach: Sara Myers 
    4. Healthcare Administration / Management: Scott Sell 
    5. College / University: Hali Sindlinger 
    6. Arts / Dance: Vacant
Student Representatives: Alexandra Flora  and Chloe Davis

The Student Representatives are devoted to representing the opinion of the athletic training students of Indiana to the IATA Executive Council. The student representatives work with a panel of other students from around the state to maintain an interactive, educational experience at the fall IATA meeting.

*Membership CommitteeSara Myers

The IATA Membership Committee works to resolve concerns any member has dealing with athletic training/sports medicine issues in Indiana.

District Representatives

North West: Mark Leto
North: Gary Hall
North East: Steve Lubbehusen
West: Yvette Cress
Central: Kathy Sparks
East: Kevin Watson
South East: Eric Fledderman
South West: Renee Woebkenberg

*GLATA State Representative: Patrick Ohaver

Serves as the Indiana State representative to the GLATA Executive Committee. 

*Governmental AffairsLucas Dargo

The Governmental Affairs Committee obtains information on all legislation affecting athletic training in Indiana. This committee is also tasked with monitoring the current athletic training practice act.

LATPAC (Licensed Athletic Trainers Political Action Committee): Anthony Scott

The purposes of the LAT-PAC (Licensed Athletic Trainers-Political Action Committee) are many fold: increase the awareness of the profession of athletic training to legislators within the State of Indiana; educate IATA members about the governmental affairs that effect them; utilize the political process to the advantage of the IATA; further the interest of the IATA by endorsing candidates and contribute funds to endorsed candidates; encourage athletic trainers to be active participants in the governmental process and lastly; organize fund raising events to support future LAT-PAC legislative efforts.

Special Committees of the Executive Council


The committee establishes Membership Dues, reviews and analyzes all budget requests, makes any necessary budget revisions and manages fund guidelines.

History and Archives: Scott Lawrance

Preserve and archive the association's history. Serves as a resource to provide information to the membership and the general public.

ATs Care - IndianaDave Grossman and Isaac Hook

ATs Care - Indiana is a Critical Incidence Stress Management (CISM) team provides free stress management interventions to licensed and student athletic trainers and their families. The team provides CISM intervention following the protocols of the International Critical Incident Stress Foundation, before, during, and after critical incidents.

National Athletic Training MonthCarl Palma

Coordinates the activities and functions for the month of March within the theme designated by the NATA to promote the profession of athletic training.

Research: Jan Clifton-Gaw

Responsible for selection of research grant recipient(s).

Scholarship: Mackenzie Clark

Responsible for selection of Graduate scholarship recipient(s).

Young Professionals: Daniel Welty

Oversees and coordinates all Association efforts related to young professionals. 

Diversity: VACANT

We advocate sensitivity and understanding towards ethnic and cultural diversity throughout the profession and association. Please forward any ideas regarding diversity within the IATA to us.

Honors & Awards: Megan Lawrance

The awards committee is responsible for obtaining nominations for the IATA and Athletic Director of the Year Award. Nomination forms are available for the Team Physician of the Year Award, but it must be sent to the ISMA for review. The IATA, AD, and ISMA awards are presented at the IATA Awards Banquet at the Fall Symposium in October. Nominations are accepted all year long. Deadlines and criteria for all awards are on the IATA website.

IATA, 125 West Market Street, Suite 300, Indianapolis, IN 46204

(317) 396-0002 EXT 3 | (317) 634-5964 FAX

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software