Award Winners

The IATA would like to express sincere thanks to all of our winners, who are most deserving of these awards because of their hard work, commitment and dedicated service to this fine organization and the athletic training profession.

2014 IATA Hall of Fame and Award Winners

Hall of Fame: John J. Doherty, Clark E. Simpson, Craig A. Voll

Joe A. Harvey Distinguished Service Award: Marion S. Vruggink

Professional Excellence in Athletic Training: Laura Harrison (High School), John D. Edwards (Clinical), John T. Locke (College)

Diversity Award: Kathy Malone Sparks

Athletic Director of the Year: J.R. Holmes

Team Physician of the Year: Eric Jenkinson, MD

2013 IATA Hall of Fame and Award Winners

Hall of Fame: Paul Plummer (St. Vincent Sports Performance), Tony Cox (Henry County Sports Medicine)

Joe A. Harvey Distinguished Service Award: John Doherty (Munster High School)

Athletic Trainer of the Year: Kevin McNamara (Yorktown HS), Chris Shaff (Franklin College), Robert Williams (ATI Physical Therapy)

Diversity Award: No Nominations Received

Athletic Director of the Year: John Friend (Purdue-Calumet), Dave Harms(Northridge HS)

Team Physician of the Year: Dr. David Porter (Methodist Sports Medicine/The Orthopedic Specialists)

2012 IATA Hall of Fame and Award Winners

Hall of Fame: Kathy Sparks, IU Health; Connie Pumpelly, University of Indianapolis

Joe A. Harvey Distinguished Service: Craig Voll, Purdue University


Athletic Trainer of the Year - High School: Sandi Byle, Zionsville HS


Athletic Trainer of the Year - College/University: Mary Jacobs, Indiana Wesleyan University


Athletic Trainer of the Year - Clinical/Professional/Industrial: Dave Hammer, Indianapolis Colts


ISMA Team Physician of the Year: Andrew Saltzman, MD


Diversity: Catherine Grove, Indiana University



Hall of Fame


Hall of Fame



Joe A. Harvey Distinguished Service Award


Athletic Trainer of the Year


Diversity Award